Graduation

L1240091-10

So I finished my final presentation yesterday. It marked the end of my 5 years at Metropolia as a Media Engineering student and especially for the last year in which I had been struggling under tremendous pressure of so many things in life. Anyways, that was the end.

Today I wandered around the neighbourhood where I have been living for most of my student life. It’s May, so it’s springtime here. Malmikartano was always considered as one of the dark residential areas in Helsinki since most of its residents are disabled or rehab people. In the winter you may see all kinds of ‘weird’ or drunk people walking on the street. Most of the time they would not do anything that may bother other people. Except from the gloom, I have never encountered any problems living here. Today is another ‘random’ holiday in Finland, I heard it’s called Ascension Day. I don’t know what it means but everybody simply takes a day off and enjoys a glimpse of spring in the air. I did the same.

Walking around with the camera in my hands again, enjoy the fresh smell of spring and finally, after a so long time, I felt happier than ever. It has really been so long since I last felt there is no stone laying on my chest. Taking pictures keeps me at ease. When I started seeing beautiful things around me again, it was like my dream was waken up again. Another good thing is that I have learnt to treat myself more kindly. I stopped pushing myself to ‘do something that matters’, like ‘take a picture that worths it’. I am just gonna do it. The fact that I was able to start taking photos again, breathing fresh air in my lungs and start dreaming again, was a sheer joy.

L1240085-4

L1240087-6L1240089-8

Leave a Reply

